Remember the Del Rio?

Del Rio: R.I.P.

Del Rio: R.I.P.

Way back in 1997 I drew a cartoon based on observations I made while hanging out at the Del Rio restaurant in Ann Arbor, Michigan. It was a fun project, and people enjoyed it, mostly I assume because of their love of the place, which closed in 2004. A damn shame, because the place had heart, soul, good music and the best freakin’ pizza in town. Not to mention the last wisps of Ann Arbor’s mythical 1970s funk factor.

I recently found my notes and initial sketches that preceded the cartoon, and I’ve posted them below, with the final product. Hope you enjoy a trip down Memory Lane, all you folks fortunate enough to remember this place.

What favorite establishments would YOU like to see get a similar cartoon treatment?

Del1Del2Del3

Dinner at the Del Rio, as it ran in Current Magazine

Dinner at the Del Rio, as it ran in Current Magazine

Leave a comment

Filed under cartoon art, original art, SOLD

Leave a Reply

